The Categories

Now open for sponsorship

If you would like to be Category sponsor for this year’s WIM Awards 2017, please contact us at

1. Best Leader in Marketing

This category recognises the client and the agency leaders who have demonstrated exemplary communications leadership in the course of the past year. This is open to client-side and agency professionals who can demonstrate how their leadership impacted the performance of their organisation, their staff, their clients and their customers, their products and/or services and their bottom line.

The winner is one who demonstrates self-awareness, decisiveness in the face of challenging circumstances, the size of the business challenge tackled and the ability to inspire others around her. Submissions must tell the story of the leader’s journey, setting objectives, leading a change agenda, creating and implementing a strategy through others. It can also include the events – personal and professional – that have shaped this nominee’s route to her role as a Communications leader. How many employers, promotions and years has this nominee experienced to attain a leadership role. Nominations for this category can come from teams, individuals or self-nominations, with the judges looking for both a client-side and an agency winner.

2. The WIM Intrapreneurship award

This award will be given to a female candidate who has demonstrated evidence of acting as an intrapreneur within their organisation by identifying opportunities, bringing new ideas and driving positive change. This winner will be someone who is able to use customer and market insight to inspire, innovate, influence and ultimately drive action within an organisation.

3. The One to Watch

This award recognises someone whose advancement through Marketing roles has been fast with a correlated expansion of responsibilities and achievements. The individual will have less than 7 year’s experience, as a marketing professional in any sector either client or agency side, and will demonstrate a comprehensive understanding and application of marketing best practice. They will have achieved tangible success with their product, brand or organisation, which should be clearly captured and presented as part of the submission.
Submissions must explain the marketing objectives and how these fit into the wider business strategy, indicate how success was measured, and quantify the impact on performance and return-on-investment. The submission should be supported by testimonials from senior management colleagues verifying the success achieved.

4. The Digital Mum’s Best Social Media Campaign

In association with

5. The Independent Consultant

This award recognises someone who works as an independent marketing consultant. The individual can work entirely on their own, or as part of an affiliation with another consultancy practice, but must be self-employed. In their work they will demonstrate a comprehensive understanding and application of marketing best practice, ambition and innovation, as well as be able to show a notable growth and development of their business practice and client list. They will have achieved tangible success in their approach, which should be clearly captured and presented as part of the submission.

6. Best Marketer Not for Profit includes Social enterprise

This award recognises the best female marketer responsible for the most effective marketing campaign for a product or service in the public sector, charity, social enterprise or not for profit sector. Entrants will need to provide evidence of market understanding, consumer insights, market and trend analysis and demonstrate how these were applied to the campaign design. Judges will want to see an outline of the campaign’s core objectives, the creative approach and desired impact on the target audience.

7. Digital Influence Campaign of The Year Award (New for 2016)

A digital influencer is someone with the power to engage and affect audience behaviour via content shared on their social media platforms. As a result, this burgeoning space is in the vanguard of digital marketing, hence being recognised by the WIM Awards 2017. This category is open to brands who have activated a marketing campaign through these channels in the past year, to deploy messaging which entices influencer audiences into a certain, specific action.
The judges will be looking for entrants to detail campaign effectiveness by providing metrics and as well as for entrants to detail campaign effectiveness by providing metrics and results which evidence significant and meaningful audience engagement and association action.

8. Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Marketing

This award will be given to a female who has contributed significantly to marketing in recent years, as a result of the ground breaking work they have achieved for their own brand or organisation or for the industry as a whole.
This will be someone who inspires greatness, who challenges the norms of marketing, is passionate about the development of women within the industry and whose energy and commitment has delivered outstanding results.

9. Equality Advocate of the Year

This award is reserved for a male individual who has gone above and beyond to promote gender equality and encourage more female leaders. They will need to have proven that they have created some form of movement around gender equality and evidence of advocating flexible working environments that enables mothers to return to work. This individual will have demonstrated that they have sought to think bigger than their own company to spear head the need for change in the wider marketing industry. The judges will be looking for not only evidence of this individual creating a voice and movement that has gathered momentum, but also tangible evidence that they have implemented change in their own business.

10. The WIM Company Award

This award recognises an organisation or company that has actively supported the development and establishment of women in senior marketing leadership roles in the organisation. The companies could range from business to agencies to academia. This award is not entered for but nominated by a panel of experts in the industry.

The winning organisation would need to demonstrate already having women in senior leadership roles and a clear strategy and plan to increase that number. This is a nominated award given to the company that has most supported women in senior marketing leadership roles

Entries to the WIM Awards 2017: Currently closed